Large scale deployment using public resources in a single region

I am curious if anyone has previously gone after a single geo and really gotten to ~100% coverage by working with aligned local parties.
Ex: calling fire departments and getting it placed strategically to cover a large area with well situated devices.

I started learning and this seems obvious to me. But I’m totally new here (as you can tell from my other question too) so maybe this is obviously a bad idea for some reason I can’t imagine.
I called a few fire depts I have connections in to and all were on board with deploying one if I bought it for them. Which I’ll admit I’m tempted to do as it serves my personal interests well. :))

Thx!

2 Likes

Well we’re about to start deploying 20,000 goTenna Mesh units in NYC thanks to this grant program:

(More here: http://www.crainsnewyork.com/article/20170418/TECHNOLOGY/170419882/sandy-inspired-texting-tool-now-helping-sandy-survivors-and-will-be-marketed-to-first-responders)

We’re about to start regional threads/groups on Mesh Community to make finding people near you easier, and early next year we hope to do target regional “group buy” type offers to get lots of people in one area to commit to building out a mesh network…

Open to new ideas!!

8 Likes

Makes total sense. I want this for the puget sound. :slight_smile:
More pragmatically…the topography means i can probably cover the areas I care most about (downtown seattle, reaching over to bellevue, then to the south west and north) for ~20 carefully selected nodes in the right locations / on top of the right bldgs. I’ll admit it is tempting.
Have you thought about reaching out to fire depts to host? My initial swag calling a few yielded a 100% “yes you can put it here” rate.

3 Likes

…would you be open to users like me who do this for you and get it deployed to a bunch of places to blanket a metropolitan area? Everyone wins.

3 Likes