Stationary relay setup question

I see from other posts that one device can become a stationary relay by just providing continues power to it and turning it on. No need to leave it paired to an iPhone. My question is: I see to get the 6 hops for SMS messages the unit needs to be on the PLUS plan. How do I get a device on the PLUS plan without connecting it to an iPhone?

I am thinking of putting one in my attack with continues power.

Have qty two (2) on order for testing and feasibility study.

1 Like

I’m fairly new to goTenna as well, but from what I understand, only the user that the message originates from has to be on the Plus plan. Any other goTenna mesh device, whether in relay mode or paired, Plus or not, will retransmit the message up to 6 hops.
As for SMS relay, one of the devices along the hops needs to be paired with a phone/tablet that has cellular or internet access. It will act as the gateway and that’s how the message gets out. This device doesn’t itself have to be on the Plus plan, just the device the message originated on.

2 Likes

Actually, to be in relay mode you want to press the Power button quickly three times once the GTM is powered on. That will stop the LED from flashing and turn it to steady on. Then quickly press it 3 more times. It will blink back 3 times, then the white LED will go out. To test that it is currently in relay mode, press the Power button once and it will reply with 3 blinks to confirm.

What relay mode does is shut down the Bluetooth to save energy. You’d also not want to just turn it on and leave it with the LED flashing as it would be if you didn’t put it in relay mode, as all that flashing continuously would also waste power.

I think you may have confused what the GTM paired to your device does with relay. Even when in paired mode, unless you’re using it for your own messages, whenever a GTM is on it is available to relay if it gets a message that needs a relay.