How do you add a new contact?

Hi experts,
KS reward only just arrived so I’m an absolute newbie…

I’ll be going on a hike tomorrow with a friend who’s willing to install the gotenna app. How do I pair with him?

1. I can’t allow access to the phone contacts because it’s a company phone and I can’t share the company’s address book.
  2. He’s a doctor so there’s no way he’ll expose his mobile number, so we’ll have to use generated IDs.

I was hoping for one of the following to exchange IDs but none seem possible…

1. Hook up through the gotenna’s hardware ID since I own both so I could do that in advance… not possible.
  2. Scan a qr-code (like threema) - the app doesn’t appear to generate one
  3. Swap IDs by copying and pasting them into Telegram or WhatsApp - copy isn’t possible on my iOS phone.
  4. Proximity method (users within 4 meters) or bluetooth hand-shake… not supported.

That leaves us with dictating and typing which seems a bit awkward and error-prone for a modern device. Especially if you have to do this often.

Is there a better way?
alanrick

1 Like

Good question! The best way I know is to send a “shout” or broadcast message. The other phone will receive it. Then have him click on the sender and add the contact.
Edit: Not click but long press on the message.

3 Likes

You can also manually enter the other users GID / cellphone number

1 Like

That’s cunning but works :slight_smile: Thanks @giqcass

1 Like

If you want to add each other without using the shout feature, manually entering the contact information using each GID would be the best way to get set up!

True, but keying in long sequences of digits is error prone.
This would be simpler and more reliable if you could copy and paste the ID into a messenger app to send while still online. Qrcodes would work offline.

So currently the shout method is the only reliable method. It’s a reasonable workaround.

3 Likes